<<< Navigation >>>

Types of Enneagram

The enneagram is an ancient spiritual tradition, that probably goes back to knowledge of different mystics. This formulates in a comprehensive way the essence of 9 different types of humans and describes their details. This makes it possible to identify to the interested seeker or even a spiritual companion a traumatic fixation and its reaction patterns comprehensively and in depth. Thus it is an essential tool on the way to awareness.

There are currently 3 types of enneagram meanings used by the following pathbreaking representatives:
  • Ichazo Oscar: Typology
  • Gurdjieff Georg: Process model
  • Dowling Terence: Primary/birth meaning

The typology teaching according to Ichazo specifies 9 different types, whereby especially this character typology is worked out in detail.

In contrast the process model by Gurdjieff describes from each major type in particular the stress and consolation transition to another type. The type transitions he explained are 3-6-9 and 1-4-2-8-5-7 which in fact leads in the circular type arrangement to two vertically-axisymmetric transitional forms a triangle and a 6-cornered polygon. He also divided into heart types (2,3,4), head types (5,6,7) and belly types (8,9,1).

The primary enneagram finally sets the 9 types in relation to the birth process and the experience of the embryo in terms of the relationship to the placenta, the head protection and the expulsion and was discussed in the previous chapter already in detail. This sequence results here as shown above.

^^^ Navigation >>>